City Info

Oklahoma City, or OKC, is the largest city, as well as the capital, of the U.S. state of Oklahoma. That is also the county seat of the country and the 27th United States' city based on the population. The city's population had reached 643,648 by July 2017.

The city is regarded as the 8th largest city of the United States based on the are covered, as the total area of the town is 620.34 square kilometers, from which 601.11 square kilometers are covered by land and only 49.81 square kilometers by water.

Among the largest sectors of the local economy, the oil, petroleum products, natural gas, and related industries might be highlighted. The large share of the local population is employed at Tinker Air Force Base and the United States Department of Transportation's Mike Monroney Aeronautical Center.

Oklahoma City is considered the main corridor to Mexico and Texas.

The city is divided both geographically and culturally by the North Canadian River. Thus, two areas of the city might be named: North Oklahoma City and South Oklahoma City. The northern part of the town hosts several fashionable neighborhoods; meanwhile, its southern part is home to industrial facilities, plants, and offices.

The city has several universities located within its boundaries. For instance, Oklahoma City University, or Epworth University, was founded back in 1904 and has some various programs as mass communications, performing arts, business, science, law, and athletic programs. The University of Oklahoma has several campuses located in different regions. Thus, its OU Medicine and the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center are located in the Oklahoma Health Center area. Meanwhile, the university's main campus is situated in the suburb of Norman, which is located 30 kilometers south of Oklahoma. Another large university of the state, the University of Central Oklahoma, is located in Edmond, the city which is a part of the Oklahoma metropolitan area. Oklahoma City Community College, the second-largest university of the state, is located in the south of Oklahoma City.  Langston University, or LU, is the state's only historically black university (HBCU). HBCUs are the universities established before the Civil Right Act of 1964 with the intention of serving the African-American community only. 

There are also the technology education schools that are in a tight association with the Oklahoma Department of Career and Technology Education organization. One of the those is Metro Technology Center or Francis Tuttle Technology Center.